Skip to content

QCU Structure

A democratic body representing 26 affiliate unions and working for more than 350,000 union members across Queensland.

Leadership Team

Leadership Team


Jacqueline King
Acting General Secretary

Jacqueline King has a diverse background within the fields of industrial relations, work health and safety, and skills and training.

She was appointed Acting General Secretary in late 2022, having served as QCU Assistant General Secretary since February 2020.

Jacqueline has a wealth of experience in the union movement, including a variety of roles across the Finance Sector Union, the Australian Services Union, the Australian Manufacturing Workers Union and the Australian Council of Trade Unions.

Jacqueline is known for her passion and strong advocacy for women’s rights and has led campaigns to address pay inequity and sexual harassment in workplaces.

Jacqueline is also deeply committed to addressing workplace health and safety issues and has been a strong advocate for preventing psycho-social hazards such as harassment, occupational violence and intensive workloads.

Jacqueline holds a Bachelor of Law (Honours) First Class Honours degree, a Graduate Diploma of Professional Legal Practice, a Master of Business Administration, and several qualifications in work, health and safety, management and training design and development. 


Kate Ruttiman
Honorary President

Kate Ruttiman is the honororary President of the Queensland Council of Unions.

She was elected in November 2019 and is the first female President of the QCU.

She has been Queensland Teachers’ Union (QTU) General Secretary since 2021, the first woman to join its leadership team.

Formerly a secondary economics and English teacher, Kate is the QTU’s lead enterprise bargaining negotiator and a strong professional voice for members, having worked on the performance review models, joint statements and basic guides.

She is a Trustee and on the QSuper Board; serves on the Queensland Work Health and Safety Board and represents the QTU on the Queensland Council of Unions’ Executive, the Rural and Remote Education Stakeholders Reference Group, the School Improvement Advisory Committee, the Teaching Queensland’s Future Stakeholders Reference Group and the Kelvin Grove Teacher Education Centre of Excellence governance committee.

The QCU Executive

The QCU Executive is the final decision-making body of the Queensland Council of Unions. A subset of Executive is the QCU Management Committee.

Honorary President
Kate Ruttiman (QTU)

Acting General Secretary
Jacqueline King

Senior Vice-Presidents
Beth Mohle (QNMU)
Peter Ong (ETU)

Alex Scott (Together)
Rohan Webb (AMWU)
Terry Burke (IEUA-QNT)
Gary Bullock (UWU)
Jennifer Thomas (The Services Union)
Sally Gunner (CPSU)
Peter Allen (RTBU)

Honorary Treasurer
Wendy Streets (Finance Sector Union)

Executive Members
Peter Toohey (AIMPE)
Michael McKitrick (AFULE)
Matt Journeaux (AMIEU)
Ann-Marie Allan (AMWU)
Steven Vaughan (BFUE)
Gary O’Halloran (CEPU Plumbing)
Jason Young (ETU)
Cameron Bird (CWU)
Rebecca Sisson (IEUA-QNT)
Michelle Rae (MEAA)
Jason Miners (MUA)
Michael McNally (NTEU)
Sean Kelly (Professionals Australia)
Kate Veach (QNMU)
Michael Barnes (QPU)
Shayne Maxwell (QPU)
Sharon Abbott (Together)
Cresta Richardson (QTU)
Brendan Crotty (QTU)
Peter Allen (RTBU)
Richard Olsen (TWU)
John Oliver (UFU)
Sharron Caddie (UWU)